Visas and Passport Recommendations for Visiting Madrid

Visa / Passport

If your country of origin is the USA, you will of course need a valid passport to visit Spain, but no visa is required for a stay of up to three months.

If you are a national of a European Union country which has not subscribed to the Schengen agreement, the same conditions apply.

However, if your country of origin belongs to the Schengen group, you can enter Spain with no passport or visa controls at all, although it is necessary to have your passport with you as identification.

No visa is required for tourists from Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Cyprus, Hong Kong, Ireland, Costa Rica, Croatia, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, Slovakia, Slovenia, United States, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Holland, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Nicaragua, Norway, New Zealand, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, United Kingdom, Czech Republic, Republic of Korea, San Marino, the Holy See, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, Uruguay and Venezuela. Visitors from countries outside the European Union who will be staying longer than 90 days require a visa in their passport. The visas must be requested from the corresponding Spanish consulate in each country.

For all nationalities, it would be prudent to check the latest regulations with the nearest Spanish consulate or embassy. There is a list of embassies and consulates for all countries here. The official Spanish Tourist Board information about entry requirements is here.

Please use the links to the left to find out all you need to know for your visit to Madrid.